‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

War on Literature: Battle of the Binding 2008

with 4 comments

The War on Literature: Battle of the Binding 2008

Wow, could I make this metaphor any more convoluted. So below you’ll find a summary of the literature and fiction that I’ve tackled so far this summer. Not everything I’ve come across has been finished. Some authors have proven too powerful for my wits and my motivation. Others have come and gone quickly. There is still a bit of summer left yet and I plan on adding more. Look for book reviews to follow, cheers.

Current Campaigns:

The Ministry of Fear by Graham Greene

Portable Faulkner by William Faulkner

Testament by Nino Ricci

Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Victories:

The Ghost Writer by Philip Roth

The Beach by Alex Garland

Mothers and Sons by Colm Tolbin

Volpone, or the Fox by Ben Jonson

Gentleman of the Road: Jews with Swords by Michael Chabon

Stanley Park by Timothy Taylor

Defeats:

I am a Cat by Natsume Soseki

My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

The Drowned World by J.G. Ballard

MIA:

Midnight’s Children by Salmon Rushdie

What Maisie Knew by Henry James

Written by thebeliever07

July 26, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Posted in literature

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just like knowing there’s someone else who reads in the same sort of weird combinations I do…

    Faith

    July 27, 2008 at 9:10 am

  2. I am going to steal this post idea. Just you wait (until tomorrow…er, later today).

    daughterofben

    July 28, 2008 at 1:10 am

  3. Also, your clock does not appear to be set at the correct time. It is currently 2.10 AM.

    daughterofben

    July 28, 2008 at 1:11 am

  4. […] addition of a new page on this archive. Liking his “Battle of the Bindings” post from Gaurav’s new “blog”, I decided to adapt* the idea on a permanent basis. This decision is motivated by a pair of […]


Leave a Reply

