‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

with 2 comments

A meme that has been floating around the past week was recently asked at this year’s ‘Way With Words Festival‘.

Some contemporary writers were recently asked, “Which classic are you ashamed to say that you’ve never read?”

So I figured this is a great place to start up a similar discussion, feel free to post your own response to this question.

I could list many books into this category, but the one that I most feel guilty about not having read is Herman Melville’s “Moby Dick”. It’s sitting on my shelf in a nice compact Bantam edition, yet for some reason I never manage to read the novel. I’m aware of its status as one of the defining novels in all of American Literature. Oh, I can fake it with the best of them…. “No, I disagree, Moby Dick is not so much about an epic battle between good and evil, but more of a commentary on English Imperialism in New England, I mean, Ahab’s tossing of his pipe, a casting off of the shackles of dependence on foreign sources of economy….clearly!”

So I must pass on the question to you, my avid reader. What’s your personal shame, what classic work of literature have you ignored?

Written by thebeliever07

July 29, 2008 at 12:16 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your fakery needs work, good sir.

    daughterofben

    July 29, 2008 at 12:20 am

  2. I have to say that mine is the same as yours.
    Except that I can’t fake. I just nod or shake my head according to what everyone else is doing.

    K

    July 29, 2008 at 11:49 am


Leave a Reply

