‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

The Counte of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

with 2 comments

Alexandre Dumas’ novel of vengeance and intrigue set amidst Napoleonic Era politics is my favorite comfort novel. What do I mean by “comfort novel”, well let me explain. For me, this is a book that you turn to when everything around you has just pushed you into a corner.

For me, “comfort books” are ones that you’ve read time and time again. They are books that you know so well that you can turn to any page in the novel, and start reading. To be obvious, there is just something “comfortable” about these types of books. There is a sense of security and warmth in knowing exactly how the plot will turn out. The characters become friends, even the villains. I enjoy knowing where the story will take my protagonist, in reliving their experiences. It’s nice to turn to a chapter or a line that you know so well, it provides a sense of structure and order when at times the world seems to take such things away from us.

Feel free to share your “comfort books”. Cheers.

Written by thebeliever07

July 29, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Posted in literature

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Honestly, I have yet to read an unabridged Count of Monte Cristo. Shame, I know.

    My two biggest comfort books are American Gods by Neil Gaiman, and Lord of the Rings by Tolkien. I try to read them once every year or two. And right now I’m re-reading Watchmen by Alan Moore, and it’s like slipping into a particularly comfortable pair of shoes that you forgot you had. Except Alan Moore writes better analogies.

    Casey Cosker

    July 29, 2008 at 1:50 pm

  2. I go back to Austen, Dickens, or Steinbeck. Anything by any one of them works for me. Or something from my childhood, Montgomery, L’Engle, or Lewis.
    Actually, I do a lot of rereading so I pick up a lot of my favourites again and again.

    Yeah, maybe Count of Monte Cristo is my shamefully unread book. Catcher in the Rye will be resolved by the end of the summer; and I took a big chunk out of important stuff I haven’t read last year when I got to all the mid-century American stuff I’d been missing: Fahrenheit 451, Catch-22, Slaughterhouse 5, Fear and Loathing…

    Faith

    July 30, 2008 at 5:34 am


Leave a Reply

