‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

“You cleaned out my D.H. Lawrence section!”

leave a comment »

Went to the bookstore yesterday and picked up some books, most of them for myself, a few for Miss Erin. Picked up “A Writer’s Diary by Virginia Woolf ed. Leonard Woolf – extracts from the Complete Diaries.” Also, picked up the “Common Reader – Virginia Woolf by Virginia Woolf”, but Miss Erin has informed me that she already owns that copy, so bonus for me.

D.H. Lawrence & Family

D.H. Lawrence & Family

While at the bookstore, I saw a nice assortment of D.H. Lawrence and as Annie my bookstore owner/friend exclaimed to me, “You cleaned out my D.H. Lawrence section!” And that I DID!

  • Women in Love by D.H. Lawrence
  • John Thomas and Lady Jane by D.H. Lawrence
  • The Portable D.H. Lawrence by D.H. Lawrence ed. Diana Trilling
  • Aaron’s Rod by D.H. Lawrence
  • England, My England and Other Stories by D.H. Lawrence
  • The Woman Who Rode Away and Other Stories by D.H. Lawrence
  • Collected Short Stories Volume III by D.H. Lawrence

I have been wanting to get into his work for some time. I just finished a short story, “The Prussian Officer” from the Portable D.H. Lawrence and his writing fascinates me. Erin insists that much of his work is quite misogynistic as she’s read some essays from Virginia Woolf claiming such things. I am not discounting such essays or views of Mr. Lawrence, but I’ll have to read more to come to a conclusion about such a thing, still too early on in my readings.

Written by thebeliever07

August 2, 2008 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

