‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Used Book Stores: Best Before…

with one comment

I think that Used Bookstores come with an expiry date. I mean aren’t your best experiences at the bookstore usually with used bookstores that you’ve entered for the first time. While I do not deny that there is something quite pleasant about a familiar used bookstore: the familiarity with various sections & aisles, being on a first name basis with the local shop keep, and even being such a regular as to gain some benefits that the majority of the public are restricted from; all of these things are fabulous and I love them.

But the best experiences with a used bookstore is when you first walk in to an unexplored store. Everything is fresh and tantalizing, this store that you’ve just walked into has everything that the old used bookstore you frequent lacks. A fresh selection of authors, titles, editions, it’s one of the best feelings in the world.

Here is the most sad thing ever about living in the falls, aside from living in the falls itself [ keep in mind I live in Chippawa, a small township of Niagara Falls, in a new development, thank god ], the worst thing about living in the falls, is that there is not a single used book store. Sure, there are two bookstores listed in that section in the yellow pages, but the one store is closed all the time, I have yet to drive by and see a time when they’re open, and the other store is specifically a Christian Book Store, so that doesn’t help me out too much.

If I had some nice start up capital and all the time in the world and a life different from my own, I’d open one up, because I’m sure I’m not the only one who would enjoy not having to drive to the local Crapters/Coles mega mart for a book. *Le Sigh….

Written by thebeliever07

August 11, 2008 at 11:32 am

Posted in bookstores

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Include a coffee maker/couches and I’ll be there. So long as you keep out the riff raff.

    Excellent use of the phrase “shop keep”

    Erin

    August 11, 2008 at 6:17 pm


Leave a Reply

