‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti

leave a comment »

I have been on a poetic kick lately. Something about fall puts me in the mood for verse. I gave myself a treat yesterday and picked up Lawrence Ferlinghetti’s “A Coney Island of the Mind” 50th Anniversary Edition. Creator of City Lights Publishing, noted for having put Allen Ginsberg on the map as well as having been tried on obscenity charges for attempting to do such a thing, Ferlinghetti helped usher in the Beat Poet movement. I do not have too much exposure with Ferlinghetti. I’ve read Ginsburg’s “Howl”, and Frank O’Hara is also a favorite of mine, but up until this point Ferlinghetti has been a bit of a mystery to me. I can safely say that I’m impressed. There is this brilliant Can-Do-FUCK-YOU attitude to his poems, his raging against the established order and his delight at all things poetic and song.

The verse sprawls across the page as if to say….”yes, I remember you Walt Whitman” and his subject matter is so large and encompassing, no one is safe from his tongue: Christ hanging on the cross, the loss of one’s virginity, riding on a subway car. It makes me smile to just read his poems.

Worth checking out if you have a library card or some spending cash for books.

Because WordPress sucks at formatting, I cannot properly space out the text of the verse in the way that Ferlinghetti has arranged it, as such I’ve cut an image from this collection that I’m pasting below, it’s zoomed out a bit, but you can click on the image to allow for an easier read, cheers and enjoy some fine verse on this autumunal morn.

Written by thebeliever07

October 16, 2008 at 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

