‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Theory:

leave a comment »

The past two years since I’ve engaged in more serious literary criticism and with the introduction of theory to my repertoire, I find that the entire world has been opened up to me. Sometimes I struggle with this knowledge because all too often I find that the great writers I’ve been exposed to raise ideas and issues that are ignored or skirted around.

Hmm, let me explain a bit more. There is a disconnect in the way our society should be, according to the “big” ideas and theory that these writers discuss and introduce, and the way that our society functions. I realize that these theorists are not without their own faults and criticism, but often they do introduce correctives and ideas that we as a society should be implementing, and yet more often than not, we tend to just listen to these writers, these theorists, nod our heads and say, “Yes, that is interesting, but I doubt that we’ll be able to set these things in motion…..blah, blah, blah” and then a series of excuses grounded in economics and feasibility are used to deter us from engaging with these issues.

I’ve been reading Louis Althusser and Michel Foucault and sometimes it just pains me to see that not much has really changed in our society since they’ve raised some of their concerns and theories. It frustrates me to know that such greatness is overlooked. Yes, I’m reading them and acknowledging their thoughts and ideas; as such I have power to implement them in my everyday life, and I guess that is the point but it’s still difficult to look around and see so much of the world ignore these ideas.

Written by thebeliever07

October 19, 2008 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

