‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Book Review: Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

with 4 comments

I’ve only read two Murakami books and it’s safe to say that I’m a fan already. I would not suggest that the maiden reading for Murakami begin with Norwegian Wood. I myself began with Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, which finds Murakami situated in a style and genre that he is more at ease with, magical realism. HBW is a novel that incorporates elements of Alice in Wonderland, Fantasy, Cyberpunk, a blending of all of these types of narrative are invoked and he makes use of them in the best of ways.

norwegianwood

Norwegian Wood is more of a traditional coming of age love story. As I mentioned in my previous post, a blending of Fitzgerald and Salinger. This narrative focuses on the different ways that love can break down and pull us apart, being caught in a  world where we often love what we cannot have and fail to recognize the love that is sitting right in front of us. I realize this all sounds cliche and at times it is, but the way Murakami makes use of this genre is done so in a very non-traditional way.

I desperately want to relate more of this narrative to you, my patience blog reader, but to do so would spoil it. If you’re wanting to get away from a very Austen-style romance and get into the mind of someone who is very real and understands how beautiful and tragic relationships and love can be, this is a wonderful narrative to pick up this Christmas season, and it’s a short read at 200+.  Enjoy.

Written by thebeliever07

December 9, 2008 at 4:30 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World is also the first Murakami book I picked up last year. I remember it was quite a short read, just like Norwegian Wood.

    karlo mikhail

    December 11, 2008 at 6:35 pm

  2. Norwegian Wood is addictive 😀

    fche626

    May 12, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  3. I agree with alot of your review. Norwegian Wood’s plot sounds cliche, but Murakami managages to make it fresh and original. I recently did a review of this book here: http://writeronwriter.wordpress.com/2009/10/13/norwegian-wood-by-haruki-murakami/#more-72

    Gabriel

    October 14, 2009 at 4:54 am

  4. Hi Folks!

    I wanted to share with you a AMAZING site I just came across teaching [url=http://www.kravmagabootcamp.com][b]Krav Maga[/b][/url] Online If you guys have seen the Discovery Channel TV Show called Fight Quest you would have seen their chief instructor Ran Nakash there featured on their [url=http://www.kravmagabootcamp.com][b]Krav Maga[/b][/url] episode. Anyways, let me know what you think. Is training via the internet something you would do?

    Holla

    Joe

    cearuttenda

    April 29, 2010 at 10:16 am


Leave a Reply

