‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Six Degrees of Wiki:

leave a comment »

734px-six_degrees_of_separation1

I was reading 2666 by Roberto Bolano and I decided to take a break and read a bit of his biography on-line over at Wikipedia. It’s amazing to see how far you can click away from your original goal in wikipedia, so I thought I’d share how far my clicking adventures took me. I’m sure we’ve all done this a few times. The next time you find yourself on wikipedia doing something similar, chronicle the event, you’ll be surprised how far it takes you away.

1. Wikipedia.

2. Roberto Bolano

3. “The Caracas Speech,” Roberto Bolaño accepting the Rómulo Gallegos Prize, translated in Triple Canopy

4. Situationism

5. Situationist International

6. Lettrism

7. Isidore Isou

I started out reading “The Caracas Speech” which referenced Situationism, which then led onto and so on, etc.

It’s amazing how far I ventured outside of my original intention, a brief biography. Wikipedia is notoriously “wikid” (oh puns) this way. Just thought I’d share, cheers.

Written by thebeliever07

December 24, 2008 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

