‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

More Roberto Bolano

with 3 comments

If you’ve been reading the blog the past few weeks, then you are aware of the fact that I have been battling with Roberto Bolano’s posthumously released epic novel 2666. An update, I’m on page 363 of this 898 beast. Still a ways to go but I shall persevere and I am enjoying it immensely.

o_roberto-bolanoI thought I would provide a nice introduction into his work, enjoy:

7 short stories by Roberto Bolaño Gómez Palacio, The Insufferable Gaucho, Álvaro Rousselot’s Journey, Phone Calls, Dance Card. From Nazi Literature in the Americas: Edelmira Thompson de Mendiluce, Luz Mendiluce Thompson & Ernesto Pérez Masón and The Fabulous Schiaffino Boys. If you know the fiction of Roberto Bolaño you know what you’re in for. If you don’t, any of these stories is a good place to start, though the first three are perhaps the most natural starting points.

Written by thebeliever07

January 3, 2009 at 12:18 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations for taking on 2666! Keenly looking forward to your comments on the same before I start it.

    Bolano’s short story Clara was also recently published in New Yorker.

    BTW, I finished reading Gioconda Belli’s autobio recently, and enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks for recommending!

    rw

    January 3, 2009 at 10:14 pm

  2. Please ignore that comment about Gioconda Belli. It was meant for another blog comment.

    rw

    January 3, 2009 at 10:16 pm

  3. Hi. I put up a long review of 2666 on my blog (too long I know, but I couldn’t help it)
    http://writingmaniacs.wordpress.com/2008/12/19/roberto-bolano-2666-pub2005-engtrans2008/
    I’d be interested to hear people’s thoughts.
    It’s a true masterpiece. I envy you because you are reading it for the first time.
    Thanks for the links, there is some great stuff!

    aboutwriting

    January 4, 2009 at 7:55 am


Leave a Reply

