‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

HMV Idiocy

with 6 comments

It’s really great when you’re checking out at HMV with an album you’ve just picked up and the clerk says to you: “Oh man, this was a real disappointment.”

What the fuck man? Way to ruin my vibe and the excitement of the album. Stupid douche bags. I’ll be calling and speaking with the manager tomorrow morning. It’s one thing if I ask or solicit an opinion, it’s another to have my music vibe ruined for me. Douchery.

Written by thebeliever07

March 27, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Posted in media, music, personal, random

Tagged with , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What was the album?
    My HMV purchases always look weird. It’s like, Clerks 2 and March of the Penguins, or James Taylor and Finger Eleven, or something like that.

    Faith

    March 28, 2009 at 5:58 am

    • Well considering how often I get to an actual music store (first time in 6 months), I would expect them to encourage people about the music interests they’ve expressed.

      Even at Chapters when I disagreed with a book purchase, if someone asked me my opinion I would be honest and say, “It’s not my personal style of reading, but it sells well” or “I’ve seen other employees here recommend it”, etc, blah, blah, blah….”

      I am sending an e-mail right now because that’s bullshit service.

      thebeliever07

      March 28, 2009 at 6:16 am

      • PS: you don’t have to say what it was here, but I would like to know :p
        Yeah, plus, I mean, what if that comment had led to the loss of a sale? “If it was disappointing, I guess I won’t buy it after all. Have a nice day.”

        Faith

        March 28, 2009 at 8:30 am

    • Oh I have no problem letting you know what album I was purchasing. MSTRKRFT’s (Master-Kraft) second album “Fist of God”. If you are unaware they are an electronica duo out of Toronto. The album is actually mediocre compared to their debut, but that should be for me to determine on my own. I called the manager this morning and spoke to her about it. She told me that he’s actually expressed this opinion concerning this particular album to all of the employees, so he seems to have some kind of a mouth on him. She apologized and said she’d definitely have a talk with him about customer service.

      thebeliever07

      March 28, 2009 at 10:08 am

  2. I think you were kind of making a mountain out of a molehill. Sure his opinion was unsolicited, but he was honest. By saying that it was a disappointment, he establishes that he’s a fan of heir old stuff and didn’t like the new album’s direction. I used to get this kind of stuff all the time when I actually bought music. It’s how the community around music expresses itself. Opening dialogue about the music with opinion so you can actually talk about it.

    And calling his manager directly? Really? You couldn’t have just told him that his opinion was unwanted?

    Paul

    March 28, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    • You have to admit though that there are nicer ways of saying that they’re not a fan of the album. I mean I was all excited to listen to the album and then as I’m pulling out my credit card he’s telling me how disappointing the album is. You’re about to sign for a lease on a car and the salesman looks at you and says, “Wow this car is definitely not something I’d drive.”

      I would not have minded him saying that he enjoyed their first album more so than the second, it was this wording and the tone in which he spoke that made me feel poorly about my purchasing decision and I should not have to feel bad about something I’m spending money on. Also, the manager informed me this morning that he apparently has gone out of his way to express to everyone how much he dislikes the album.

      thebeliever07

      March 28, 2009 at 7:59 pm


Leave a Reply

