‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

A second chance…

with 5 comments

I’ve decided to give Dollhouse, Joss Whedon’s most recent television creation another chance. I was put off by the first episode a bit, and I found myself not caring about the main character, Echo, a woman/agent who is continually re(wired) and (re)programmed by a company for dates/missions.

I was a bit worried this would follow what many of Joss Whedon’s series fall into: “monster of the week” [insert – ‘mission of the week’]. And while Joss does rely heavily on this technique there is enough background information starting to form around the larger story arc that surrounds Echo and why she and the company are being hunted down by both the FBI and rogue agents.

I’m about four episodes in and I will be picking this up in the fall in DVD format. 

I urge you to give this show a chance, track down the episodes online and catch up. Cheers.

Written by thebeliever07

April 25, 2009 at 8:01 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wasn’t blown away by this show really at all – but I will admit that episode 6-8 are pretty stellar episodes and make for some GREAT TV watching!

    Scott

    April 25, 2009 at 10:52 am

  2. First five episodes were crap. Some of the worst TV I’ve ever seen.

    But since then, the show has become inexplicably awesome.

    Too bad the show is canceled.

    Casey Cosker

    April 25, 2009 at 11:41 am

  3. Yes, I think everyone sort of admits that the first few episodes were crap, but I think that is also because they had to set up a fair bit and get it out of the way so that they could deal with larger issues that center around Alpha and Echo. It is sad that it looks like it will not be picked up again in the fall. Another “Firefly” syndrome.

    thebeliever07

    April 25, 2009 at 12:45 pm

  4. I agree: first five, meh. Last few? I’m hooked.

    Hope that the network gives it another chance, too.

    Calliope

    April 25, 2009 at 3:51 pm

  5. I have done the first four too, they were good. would rather watch this then Heroes but you know my feelings on that. i keep hearing how great episode 6 is, and can’t wait to watch it (maybe tonite). for me as similar this is to Whedons other work, there is something here that makes it really unique that its just starting to get a hold of but for the life of me i am not sure what it is just yet…

    ecstasyofgold

    April 26, 2009 at 9:17 pm


Leave a Reply

