‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

“The most thrilling of all known pursuits!”

with 9 comments

2009-04-28-510reading

Here is a list of authors I have wanted to read but for one reason or another I have simply not had the motivation to pick up:

  • John Irving
  • Ian McEwan
  • Gabriel García Márquez
  • John Updike
  • Sherwood Anderson
  • Joseph Heller
  • Sylvia Plath
  • Flannery O’Connor
  • Amy Tan
  • John Galsworthy
  • Saul Bellow
  • Toni Morrison
  • Thomas Mann
  • Hermann Hesse
  • Ray Bradbury
  • Isaac Asimov
  • Harper Lee
  • Thomas Hardy
  • Somerset Maughm
  • P. G. Wodehouse
  • Gustave Flaubert
  • Henry James
  • Agatha Christie
  • Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Octavia E. Butler
  • Daphne Du Maurier

I have a few of these authors on my shelves but I have just not had the inclination towards picking up these authors. I am sure many of you know this feeling as at times you just have to be in the right frame of mind for the right kind of book and author. These are all authors that have made a name for themselves and I have heard only the best of their works, but still for one reason or another, I have been unable to pick them up. Ah well, here’s hoping. I have a long life ahead of me, I hope, and I plan on checking these authors off as the years roll by. Feel free to make your own list and share them with me, cheers.

Also, I just discovered one of the most hiliarious web comics. Check out Wondermark.com

2008-09-12-442books

Written by thebeliever07

June 7, 2009 at 10:53 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I’m a bibliophibian.

    Erin

    June 7, 2009 at 12:25 pm

  2. I wouldn’t bother with John Irving.

    Faith

    June 7, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    • He has been one of those authors that has a big name of which some people I know ardently promote him, and others such as yourself tell me that he’s rather dull. Hmm, not sure.

      thebeliever07

      June 8, 2009 at 6:57 am

  3. Not necessarily dull…but his endings were much too…ending-y. For my taste.

    Faith

    June 8, 2009 at 8:08 am

    • Hmm. I enjoyed Cider House Rules [ Film ], so the story seemed interesting enough, but I have no experience of his writing style. As I said, for one reason or another, some authors are there as people I want to read but just never get around to it. Cheers.

      thebeliever07

      June 8, 2009 at 8:11 am

  4. why even is Amy Tan on this list? (and rumours have it that Daphne Du Maurier is not so hot either, and Hitchcock rather lifted her value. I read Rebecca years and years ago, and can’t remember a thing).

    bootle

    June 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

    • why *ever*

      bootle

      June 11, 2009 at 9:55 am

    • As I wrote in this post these are authors that have made a name for themselves and are frequently recommended as a part of various canonical literary works. I’ve not read these authors and have no way of knowing whether or not I’ll like them.

      thebeliever07

      June 11, 2009 at 3:53 pm

      • oh, don’t get me wrong, most of the list looks delicious, and I have many of those authors waiting for me, and many that I can vouch for. I was just surprised that she is even considered canonical.

        bootle

        June 11, 2009 at 9:07 pm


Leave a Reply

