‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Don Quixote….MAYBE?

with 8 comments

Don_Quixote

Cannot sleep. Wired from work for some reason, but I am starting in on Cervantes Don Quixote. Two summers ago I purchased the book with the intention of making it my summer read but I found myself being distracted by other things, one hopes that does not occur again. I made it through the introduction and the first few chapters of Vol. 1, so here’s hoping. I would enjoy reading something long and drawn out this summer, big reads are fun, lets a person really sink their teeth into a text and just revel in it. Faith, I think you know what I mean what with your Infinite Summer.

UPDATE: June 17, 2009 12:13 p.m.  I think that maybe last night I was a bit out of it and I was being quite ambitious. Am I really going to read Don Quixote? I am not so certain. It’s heavy and long and I’m lazy and my attention is sparse. Ugh, what to read, what to read?

Written by thebeliever07

June 17, 2009 at 1:52 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sure do. And Quixote was my summer read a couple summers ago, and I loved it.

    Faith

    June 17, 2009 at 5:31 am

    • Yes there is so much humour and richness to the text. I find myself hearing his laughter and picturing his smirking the entire time.

      thebeliever07

      June 17, 2009 at 10:09 am

    • I’ve decided to hold off on it. I was reading it this morning and just not feeling it, I think I was deluded in the middle of the night with notions of grandeur. Cheers.

      thebeliever07

      June 17, 2009 at 5:48 pm

      • “To dreeeam, the impossible dreeeam / to fiiight the unbeatable foooe…”

        daughterofben

        June 17, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  2. Drat. Now that’s stuck in my head. Mockery backfired.

    daughterofben

    June 17, 2009 at 10:41 pm

  3. umm… it’s heavy and long? sir, i read Don Quixote when i was 14 …two years ago 🙂

    Amanda S.

    August 9, 2009 at 1:51 am

    • Dearest Amanda S.

      To read something is different than to comprehend and understand that work.

      I have no doubt of your ability to read at the age of 14, but my remark on Don Quixote reflected the amount of time it would take me to read that work, not my ability.

      Thanks for randomly posting a bit of your criticism. I’m pleased that you feel the need to one up someone on the internet, huzzah.

      Kindly,
      -G.

      thebeliever07

      August 9, 2009 at 10:37 am

  4. Hi again!

    I dint mean my comment as a criticism AT ALL! I cherish this novel and was merely trying to encourage you 🙂 I recommend the Edith Grossman translation for those who do not desire a “heavy” read 🙂 cuz she brings it all up to date with modern English is why.

    Luv, peace and tranquility -A

    Amanda S.

    August 9, 2009 at 10:10 pm


Leave a Reply

