‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Forgotten Bookmarks:

with 2 comments

What is the weirdest or most delightful thing you’ve ever found in a bookmark? And if you think you’re alone in the horror/joy that is biblio-discovery, think again. Chips, fingernail clippings, the dreaded “snot/booger”, *shudders.

I think one of the best things I’ve found in a book was in the Marcel Proust collection that I picked up a number of years ago. Inside is a postcard of a landscape illustration from the 18th century and a note written in a language and script I cannot make out. I have no idea what it says, but I am sure its something beautiful and heartfelt. It makes me smile for some reason.

There are many, many, sites & blogs devoted to the things that people find in books. @Intralibris @BiblioBuffet [ The Legend of the Bacon Bookmark!!! ] @Mirage Bookmark [ Most comprehensive bookmark reference site on the internet. ] @Bookmark of the Week @Enclosures and so forth: “I work at a used and rare bookstore, and I buy books from people every day. These are the personal, funny, heartbreaking and weird things I find in those books. “

I could keep on going, so many more. Enjoy.

Written by thebeliever07

July 26, 2009 at 8:51 am

Posted in bookmark, bookstores

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve sat in used bookstores looking through books to find things in them, but the best things are the ones you aren’t looking for at all.

    Emi

    July 26, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    • I agree, and I could also say the same thing except instead of the word “best”, replaced with “disgusting”. Cheers.

      thebeliever07

      July 26, 2009 at 9:22 pm


Leave a Reply

