‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

The West Wing

leave a comment »

I’m currently watching The West Wing Season 2 (much to the delight of one of my best friends Jenn) and several thoughts have occurred to me. Keep in mind that I am well aware that many of these thoughts have been written and uttered during the shows heyday back when it was “current”.

First off, Martin Sheen is quite possibly the best President to ever grace the television screen, and as Erin has remarked about my opinion of him, “Many, many, people have said that if given a chance they’d vote for him in real life.”

As much as this shows brings out the inner neo-liberal in me and has me cheering for this pure vision of a Democratic West Wing and all of its heart felt devotion to citizenship, freedom, democracy, and justice; well, it does get a bit heavy handed at times. I sometimes have to pull back and say to myself, calm down, they’re being a bit arrogant and a bit forceful in their ideologies.

With all of that, it’s still an amazing show that has some of the best writing I’ve ever seen. The pacing is fast, which is surprising considering the amount of exposition and talking that occurs in each episode. [ West Wing is famous for having helped establish ‘walk-n-talk’ scenes.]

I’m just starting in on Season 2 and I’ve already been warned about the eventual degradation in the quality of writing around Season 4 & 5 as a result of Aaron Sorkin’s departure, still I’m excited for so many more episodes, such a fun show. Cheers.

Written by thebeliever07

July 30, 2009 at 7:12 am

Leave a Reply

