‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

Ernest Lessons:

leave a comment »

Uncle Ernest’s Life Lesson of the Week:

ernesthemingway“On my desk next to my typewriter I have the following words emblazoned on a plaque and whenever I find myself struggling with writer’s block, I turn to them and I inevitably feel more relaxed and more at ease with myself and my work, heed them well:

‘Remember the three M’s: Misogyny, Machine-guns, & Murder, as long as these three are present in a story, one is surely to never fail.’

Alas, the lessor known three N’s are not as reliable as the three M’s: Ninjas, Nickels, & Note-cards.

The three M’s though, these words have never failed me and I find that my readers are always pleased when these elements are in place. I mean afterall, who could say no to a story about a machine-gun? Would you?”

Written by thebeliever07

August 5, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

