‘ahems and ahahs’

Literature, & Etc.

One Nation…..

with 4 comments

…Under God, well maybe not God, maybe Literature.

Erin and I were in the Crapters recently and she asked me an intriguing literary question. If you could only read one nation’s work of literature, the authors must have a birth certificate from this nation and (here is the fun part) you are restricted from reading authors outside of this nation, which nation do you choose?

It is a difficult question to answer. So many wonderful authors from so many different countries: Ireland, Great Britain, Japan, United States, India, Mexico.

Going to think on this for a bit and will respond later, but enjoy. Cheers.

Written by thebeliever07

August 31, 2009 at 10:43 am

Posted in media, news, random

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It would cut out some of my absolute favourites (Steinbeck, Joyce…), but I think I’d have to choose England.

    Faith

    August 31, 2009 at 9:04 pm

  2. The proviso is that you can cross-reference writers: Ondaatje can belong to India/Sri Lanka as well as Canada. Neil Gaiman to Great Britain or America.

    I’m torn between Canada and Great Britain. I guess if I want to continue studying Ben, I have to choose the latter. Why did I think of this foolishly restricting question?

    Erin

    September 1, 2009 at 10:41 am

  3. Erm, so no, the writers do not need a birth certificate.

    Erin

    September 1, 2009 at 10:45 am


Leave a comment